Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daveseavista

Tomatoes with no flowers

daveseavista
15 years ago

Hi I am new to hydroponics and I have 6 tomato plants about 75 cm tall that have no sign of flowers. They are in a flood and drain system and I use house and garden grow nutrient. The nutrient is changed every 2 weeks and the ph is adjusted. I have not used the bloom nutrient yet as I was waiting for the flowers to come. The plants look healthy and are grown inside the house next to a large south facing window using natural light. Any ideas what could have gone wrong?

Many thanks in advance

Comments (11)

• grizzman
    15 years ago

how old are they?
    Do you know what variety they are?

• vivaciouswoman
    15 years ago

I've got a similar situation! I'm even using Floramato and supplementing it with a flowering nutrient. I'm growing a bunch of different heirloom varieties, and they initially flowered a bit, but then they stopped flowering altogether. I've moved them outside where they'll get pollenated if and when they do bloom...

Anybody have any suggestions on what might be going wrong?

• grizzman
    15 years ago

you nutrient solution will not induce a plant to produce flowers. it may affect how they develop (or don't) and how the fruit comes out, but it won't dictate the creation of the flowers themselves.
    Generally its a light, age, variety, and/or temperature matter. a determinate variety will only flower after a set amount of time. indeterminate varieties flower based on the amount of sunlight they receive in a day. If the temperature is too great, most plant stop actively growing.

• daveseavista
    Original Author
    15 years ago