Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
planter_geek

Starting with Hydroponics

planter_geek
15 years ago

I would like to know about member's experiences of beginning with Hydroponics, so please tell me yours. It seems that most build their own design that follows one of the Hydroponic system types instead of using some plans they got somewhere to build it. Is this true?

Comments (13)

• tbaleno
    15 years ago

I experiment a lot. I also fail a lot.

I started out buying a commercial hydroponic garden and then started experimenting with growing stuff all sorts of ways. I mostly use wick systems since they are easy.

I'm also constantly looking online for designs and have found a few I want to build. Unfortunately, I'm too lazy to get started and get the parts I need.

I'm no expert, but you asked for peoples experiences so I thought I would share mine.

The link to my site is below if you care to look at some of the stuff I'm doing.

Here is a link that might be useful: My garden

• mhargraves
    15 years ago

For me one of the biggest reasons to grow hydroponic is to experiment. I like to build things, then tweak them, then build something better.

I like the bubble method. My plant roots hang in a solution that is heavily aerated all the time. I like it because I can grow a different plant in each container.

Currently I am growing Cucumbers, about 5 different types of tomatoes, about 8 different types of hot peppers, several herbs like Basil, Cilantro, Onion, Parsley, Dill, and Peppercorns, some other things like horseradish, Celery, and am trying Potatoes.

• grizzman
    15 years ago