Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tampahydro

florida outdoor hydroponics

tampahydro
15 years ago

Just wondering if anyone has any experience with outdoor hydroponics, particularly Florida. I have a flood table set out in full sun, with a 20G reservoir(shaded) that has failed to do much since setting up the 4th of July. Some even developed black leaves, shriveled, etc.

Tried to grow basil, tomatoes, hot peppers, chives, garlic, etc.

-All in a clear flood basin

-All in perlite

-All in clear plastic containers and cups

-All in direct sun, with no shade cloth

* I have a flood table for basil cuttings on the southern exposure patio which gets direct light in the morning. These guys arent growing much, but they are developing enormous roots, and look very healthy in the same solution I use in the other table.

Now questions, since I am new to this:

-Was this just instant death during summer?

-Should I cover the table, just allowing just the roots to be exposed?

-I am going to purchase shade cloth. What is a good % recommendation?

Any help, links, etc would be helpful. Seems like most hydroponics resources deal strictly with indoor growing conditions.

Yeah, I think it might be plant suicide growing in these temps, but the same established potted plants are doing a lot better despite the heat.

Comments (10)

• norm34
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Tampahydro,
    I live a few miles south of you and have been growing with hydroponics outside for 30 years.
    Send me a private e-mail and I will try to answer all your questions.
    Norm

• garysgarden
    15 years ago

The big questions I have are:

1. What are you using for nutrients?
    2. What are the conditions of your nutrient solution? (temperature, concentration, pH)
    3. How do the roots look? (white and healthy, gray, black?)