Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jdkcubed

Complete Noob -- winging it!

jdkcubed
13 years ago

Hello all. I have recently become interested in Hydroponics and have DIY'd my own Flood/Drain system. I have started completely from scratch so am waiting for my seedlings to be large enough to go into my system.

My flood tray is 18 x 32 x 7

Tote bin for reservoir - 18 gallons plan on using 15

6.5" net pots to hold the hot peppers

15 starter cubes/2 seeds each

Flora Nova Nutrient Series

Sun Blaze 2FT T5 6500K lights for now

Anyway winging it with some advice from my local hydro store (yes we have one...6 minutes away) and they seem knowledgeable but always look for a second viewpoint.

I am keeping a blog of the project, so you can see the how and why of what I have done. Would appreciate any feedback you can offer.

http://vacuusterra.blogspot.com

Joe

Comments (9)

• wordwiz
    13 years ago

You are going to need stronger lights once the plants start growing!

Mike

• jdkcubed
    Original Author
    13 years ago

How do you SIZE lights. I don't understand it. I mean this is definitely a learning experience how can Iget by with adequate lighting without spending a bazillion more dollars??

• grizzman
    13 years ago

They make charts that will give you the light diffusion as you get further away from the source. I can't remember what they're called, but they are light specific.
    If you get that chart then find the lux level at the distance from the plant (the lowest part of the plant)you'll know if you have enough light.
    Anybody care to chime it with what his light levels need to be at? I, so far, only grow by the light of the sun.

• Karen Pease
    13 years ago

General rule of thumb for fluorescents, HPS, and MH: the light should feel just comfortably warm where the plants are. Not hot, but not imperceptible, either. You should be able to feel the heat, but nothing more than you would feel from being in the sun.