Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
effie4050

Nutrient Mixing for Dummies...

effie4050
12 years ago

Hi All, I've been reading through this forum for some time and finally decided to buy a Vertigro (250 pot) system. Unfortunately, with all the reading, I have no practical experience. I am using dry nutrient. Hopefully, I can get a little clarification:

1. Is there a calculator that can tell me how much nutrient per gallon. Here is the info form the website,http://www.hydro-gardens.com/81536mixing.htm. However, when I called they did not know how to tell me how much per gallon instead of 500 gallon. If know calculator maybe a simple calculation.

2. I should be adding the MG sulfate & lettuce mix in one jug and the calcium in the other? I then just throw it into a mix once I am ready to add it?

3. Then I take the PH & PPM and I'm set?

4. What strengths are appropriate for the seeding stage?

Any help that you may furnish would be GREATLY appreciated!

Comment (1)

• homehydro
    12 years ago

That link is mixing directions for 100 gallon amounts. How much are you wanting to mix? Going by the directions for the 8-15-36 fertilizer it comes out to a little less than 1 oz per 10 gallons (.8 to be exact). Or .08 per gallon.

Broken down from the directions in the link:

_____________________________(for 100 gallons)______(50 gallons)______(for 25 gallons)______(10 gallons)______(per gallon)
    8-15-36.................................................(8 oz)...........................(4 oz).......................(2 oz)......................(.8 oz)....................(.08 oz)
    Calcium Nitrate (CaNO3)......................(6 oz)............................(3 oz).....................(1.5 oz)....................(.6 oz)....................(.06 oz)
    Magnesium Sulfate (MgSO4).................(4 oz)...........................(2 oz).........................(1 oz).......................(.4 oz)..................(.04 oz)