Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ezmac_gw

Dying plants in Autopot-like system

ezmac
15 years ago

Hello

I am new to hydroponics; I am using the Smartgarden system from Futuregarden, which uses the SmartValve to regulate nutrient delivery to plants. I am growing in a mix of perlite and coco coir.

After a few weeks of good growth, some of my plants (thyme, cilantro, melon, rosemary) have leaves that are wilting and dying. The thyme is almost dead--its top leaves started wilting first, and now it is spreading to the rest of the plant. The other plants in the system (peppers, dill, basil) appear to be healthy.

Does anyone know what the cause could be? I am seeing some salt accumulation on the surface of the coco coir; perhaps I should reduce the nutrient concentration (I am using full-concentration right now)?

I do not think there is a mold or root rot problem, as I don't see or smell anything funky in the reservoir.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Comments (11)

• rebecca3
    15 years ago

I'm also new to hydroponics and am having a similar problem. The yellow squash are doing great in the Aussie Autopots, the tomatoes are wilting and dying.
    I have three different systems, an Australian Autopot with six pots, an English Autopot with 2 pots, 4 Eco pots, and a Green Machine PVC Pipe Garden. I also have an Emily's garden, but that is more of a toy.

The green machine is loved by it's plants, so far.

The tomatoes in the autopot are drooping, have ceased growing, and their leaves are turning under and becoming a bit purply underneath. I have read the info about pottassium, but am unsure how to go about getting more potassium into the tank.

Do I drain everything, then change the nutriens? Since all the nutrients have some form of pottassium, which do I choose?
    What's the recipe????

• greystoke
    15 years ago

If the leaves have purple patches, it could be a shortage of phosphor.

• greystoke
    15 years ago