Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silverfalcon81

Would love some advice or tips here.

silverfalcon81
15 years ago

Okay, I am going to try and be as detailed as possible here so you can give me accurate feedback on my idea.

I am a fairly novice hydroponics grower, I have quite a bit of "real dirt" gardening, but I am now in a climate where I can only grow things for 4 months of the year, which I find horribly depressing.

Sooo... I have decided to start growing things indoors. I have put a lot of thought into this and I would just like to see if people think it would work.

I plan on building a "cabinet" to grow my crops in. the bottom 2 feet of the unit will be "the guts" of the operations. I am thinking 6 feet long, 2 feet deep, 2 feet tall. I plan on having 3 tanks down there (basically 10 gallon plastic tanks.. kinda like these http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-pumps-water/small-plastic-water-tank.htm), air pumps to provide more oxygen to the water, and the water pumps themselves to move the water to where I want it.

So all the "workings" are in the cabinet below, and all the tanks will have shutoffs so I can pull them out, dump them, clean them, or just adjust the mixture. Then above that there would be 3 more units basically the same size as the bottom unit, my first "Growing chamber" or whatever you want to call it, Each unit would be "removable" if I need to move them, or reconfiguring the setup. Eventually I want to have a entire cabinet to run lots of "chambers" but for now I starting with just one. So, basically 8 feet tall (and yes I know that means I will have to use a ladder to access the top unit, but I rent and space is a bit of a premium, but I will have enough room for this in the garage)