Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rugby10_gw

Drip system, and Light... Advise/Opinions wanted!

rugby10
18 years ago

Hello all,

I hope everyone had a great Holiday! Pray for those less fortunate! and don't get to bored reading my diatribe.

I have a few questions regarding my proposed set up, and I hope some of you can help. I will explain my proposed set-up and I will have build pictures as the project progresses.

I live in a small studio apt. and the growing season is close to an end here. I wanted to try my hand at a small or micro Hydro set-up for Beans, Peppers, and Strawberries. Also need to overwinter my tropical Bonsai, and impress my friends so they keep on being my friends... Just kidding, but I hope it turns out to be cool.

I'm working on a budget as I'm a student in Emergency Medicine.

My system: Recirculating Drip. I'm going to use two Rubbermaid Roughneck storage totes (10 Gallon/37.9L) made with LDPE (for the safety factor). One for the reservoir/Pump housing, and the other as a tray.

Totes (Home Depot) $5.37 ea.

The tray will be comprised of; 6 x 3.5" mesh pots filled with Hydroton's expanded clay pellets set into and Supported by the lid. The lid will be reinforced with two pieces of .5" PVC tube.

Mesh pots (local hydro store) $.35 ea.

PVC (home depot) $1.97 for 5'

Hydroton Clay Pellets (local hydro store) $5.99 for 1L bag.

A Rio 600 Pump will deliver the nutes/H2O via .5" hose to an outlet spider attachment in the center of the tote. The spider (AKA .5" bubbler) is a cap with 6 x .25" connectors and a .625" I.D. (inside diameter AKA Female) threaded inlet. Connecting the .5" pump side hose to the spider required; a slip fit .5" male end with an .625" O.D. (outside diameter AKA male) threaded head (AKA .5" MIPT connector). Total head on the pump is 18" which yeilds about 140GPH according to the Rio chart.

Pump (aquarium store) $14.99

Spider (Home Depot) $3.29

.5" Connector (Home Depot) $1.59

Air: