Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oldmikey

indoor dwc garden, led question

oldmikey
9 years ago

hello yall, im new to hydroponics. and i was wondering if some one could answer my questions

im looking into making this system https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3imrVkIUhg&list=UUU0VgNVC0KzHpiz026V-RHQ

im looking into this guy http://www.ebay.com/itm/GREAT-YIELD-300W-LED-Grow-Light-Full-Spectrum-Panel-For-Medical-Flower-Plants-/301310620119?pt=US_Hydroponics&hash=item46278331d7

or would this light be a better choice? http://www.ebay.com/itm/52-Inch-300w-LED-light-Bar-FLOOD-SPOT-COMBO-25000-lumen-300-Watts-/331312342548?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4d23c12614&vxp=mtr

i will be growing -dinosaur kale, russian kale, strawberries, swiss chard, watercress, pak choi, rapini broccoli, spinach, mustard and collard greens, turnip and rhubarb.

I want an LED because of its lower cost to run power it. so here are my questions, i hope you can help me and thank you in advance!

we have some crazy winter weather and id like to have my garden with me indoors! =]

1) is 300 watts enough?
2) if so, how many square feet does it cover? 3x3 ft?
3) do i need a full spectrum
4) if not should it be blue and red?
5) would an only white LED light source work?
6) or does it matter how man lumens the light is?
7) at what height distance is best for LEDS?
8) is HPS a better choice and if so, is it cheaper than LED's/month in electricity bills?

- if i do a 3x3 DWC set up, i would run 36 holes, spaced 6 inches apart. i know some of these plants require more water and might hog it, so ill be running a batch of veggies that are closest and most equal to one another

Thank you once again!

This post was edited by oldmikey on Tue, Sep 16, 14 at 6:46

Comments (4)

• ajames54
    9 years ago

Lots of questions there...and there are lots of varying opinions on the LEDs...