Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenwood85

Why does is work?

greenwood85
15 years ago

I am a school teacher and I'm trying to come up with an explanation of why a plant's roots can rot in soil but not in a hydroponic environment. Any direction would be appreciated.

Comments (3)

• greenwood85
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Oh, man. I'm sure to catch flack for messing up my title and admitting I am a school teacher and rightfully so! Sorry about that. I wish I knew how to fix it!

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

No worries -- it happens. You have to see your mistake BEFORE you hit the "Submit Message" button.

I think you have some misinformation; plant's roots CAN and DO rot in a hydroponic environment. In fact, root rot and damp-off (similar bugaboo) are among hydroponic growers' greatest challenges. It varies with each cultivar (type of plant), but root rot and damp-off each stem from a common problem: Lack of available free oxygen. Damp off actually caries with it some other causes, but when there's plenty of oxygen available, damp off has a hard go of it.

Hydroponic growers (myself included) do several things to "aerate" the roots. Personally, I use air injection by way of a fish-tank-type air pump, hose and air stones. This bubbling adds free oxygen to the water and keeps the roots healthy just like it does fish.

Another method is to add diluted hydrogen peroxide to the nutrient mix. This adds oxygen on more of a "chemical" basis. The byproducts of hydrogen peroxide breakdown are oxygen and water.

"Drip" systems use the natural flow of water through an aggregate medium, the end result being trickling, which imparts free oxygen to the recirculating nutrient solution.

Hope this is enough information for you to teach your kids.

God bless.

:O)

• hooked_on_ponics
    15 years ago

You hit the nail right on the hammer.