Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
afallingember

Sand and non-circulatory hydroponics?

AFallingEmber
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to gardening and would like to try non-circulatory hydroponics...in sand. I've read that sand is only to be used in run-to-waste hydroponic systems. Why is this? Sand is inert and can be sterilized. Why can't it be used in something like a non-circulatory hydroponic system? And has anyone tried this? Also, any tips on making hydroponics more sustainable?

Comments (6)

• cole_robbie
    10 years ago

Can you elaborate on what you mean by 'non-circulatory?' I am thinking of wick hydroponics, where the media stays partially submerged in liquid, which then wicks upward to wet the rest of the roots. I think just about any media could work for that. My only issue with wet sand is that it might not hold enough air. You would need coarse sand and maybe some perlite or gravel.

• AFallingEmber
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for your reply, Cole_Robbie. And yes, that's exactly what I meant. Either that or the Kratky method seem low-tech enough for my situation. From what I've read, sand allows for very good air flow and allows the roots to grow more than any other medium, so I think I'm good there. According to the theory, the lower roots continue growing downward as the nutrient solution gets lower; meanwhile, the upper roots are exposed to moistened air. I think I'll just go ahead and try it - setting it up would take less time than doing more research. I just wanted to know if anyone had done something similar already, or had any kind of advice. Thanks again.

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

My two pieces of eight,