Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brkieffner

Researcing Hydroponics, Newbie Here!

brkieffner
12 years ago

Hello all.

I have been researching hydroponics for about a week now and I feel that I'm still getting confused about most things.

I like to read though so do you guys suggest good books that will help me understand hydro a little better?

What about some beginner setups for me to try my hand at? Maybe some plans to help me build my own? I love to be as DIY as posssible.

The system will be indoors and I'd like to grow some salad greens, herbs and other veggies. If I do well with those, maybe some berries or roses.

Thanks for the help and suggestions!

Comments (4)

• Umlah123
    12 years ago

Hi brkieffner -

I can relate to your confusion, trying to get a handle on exactly how to start, which products are the best choice, etc.

A few weeks ago I went to the Maximum Yield Hydroponics expo in San Francisco, and was overwhelmed by the vast array of different vendors and products!!!

What I have come away with in researching hydroponics is that the nutrients are the most critical element for having a good urban farming experience.

Also, it's important (I think so, at least), to interact with a company that has a long track record for producing consistently successful products . . . AND . . . is easy to communicate with their tech support staff.

Using that as my guide, and having talked with a variety of folks along the way, I'm leaning toward a company called "General Hydroponics".

They're located locally here in northern Cal, and have been producing systems and nutrients for over 30 years. What I liked most though was the excellent tech support people - when you call them, actual living humans answer the phone (what a concept), and they are very patient at explaining anything that might be of interest.

So, as I am starting out with my adventures in hydroponics, I got some of their "MaxiGro" nutrient concentrate, and other related items.