Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adaptusaaf

Living off hydroponics???

adaptusaaf
14 years ago

I'm new to this, and just curious about the possibilities, regardless of cost.

All questions related to hydroponics only.

1. Is it possible to grow a wide enough variety of foods hydroponically to meet all of your body's food needs?

2. If so, how much room would be required to grow enough food to sustain one average sized person?

3. Is there a list somewhere detailing all of the possible foods you can grow hydroponically?

4. Is it feasible NOT to use pesticides or herbicides on hydroponic foods if grown in a sealed environment?

5. Has anyone you know of or heard of lived off of only hydroponic food for a long time, or almost completely on hydroponic food? How was their health in relation to the general public?

6. What would be the price range for such an endeavor, to live off of purely hydroponic output?

7. What are the best books on learning about hydroponics in your experience?

Thank you so much for your answers!

Comments (17)

• adaptusaaf
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for replying grizzman!

1. I meant that is it possible to grow a wide enough range of foods with hydroponics every year in a relatively short time (without waiting 20 years for a walnut tree to grow for example).. Are the short term yielding plants (fruits,veggies, and their nuts) able to give you a healthy diet?

2. I'm just asking for a ballpark figure, I have no idea if I'd need a warehouse-size area or a shed-size area.

3. I'm a real newbie at definitions, are nuts considered fruit and fruit considered plants, so you can grow nuts hydroponically too?

4. That's great! Pesticide reduction was the main reason I want to live off hydroponics!