Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kea2_gw

yellowing leaves

kea2
16 years ago

The lower leaves on my basil are turning yellow - almost white, actually - and going brown on the edges. Eventually, they drop off. I converted this basil plant from potting soil about a month and a half ago. I kept it out of direct sunlight, with a clear bag over it, with no fertilizer for about 3 and a half weeks. It lost a bunch of its lower leaves in the process and then stabilized. Now that I've moved it outside, it's going yellow again. It also doesn't seem to be growing.

I can't figure out if I should stop giving it fertilizer or start giving it more. I've only been giving it 1/4 - 1/2 strength hydroponic nutrient solution.

Comments (14)

• greystoke
    16 years ago

I've got no experience with basil. Never grew it. But I checked with some friends and consulted some sites on the internet:
    All I can find is that basil is susceptible to aphids. It is also reported that basil likes LOTS of water and can take full sunshine. Unfortunately, there is nothing that descibes your problem specifically to basil,

So - I suppose - the answer has to be that your basil plant's rootsystems are either underdevelopped or that the plants can't get enough moisture.

My suggestion is that you should - first of all - ensure that the roots always touch the top of the nutrient solution by about ¼ inch, and - secondly - keep the plants indoor and feed it full strength nutrients untill the plants starts to grow normally. Then, start moving the plants outside.

• kea2
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I shall move the plant back into the shade until it starts to grow. Maybe it does need to grow more roots. The bottle of nutrient solution says to apply it once every 7-10 days, but my reservoir (OK, it's a deep saucer) only lasts about 3 days. Would it hurt to keep topping it up with more full-strength nutrient solution?

• greystoke
    16 years ago