Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sirtanon

Dirt-cheap Gurgler

SirTanon
19 years ago

Hello all!

I'm new to the world of hydroponics, and so I thought I would start out simple. I'm currently working on completing a home-made coke-bottle ebb and flow system using 1" PVC and a rubbermaid tub, but in the mean time, I got a spark of an idea and put together a super-budget gurgler system.

Actually, I wasn't sure exactly if it would work when I did it, but I thought why not. And it was CHEAP!

Okay, first the pic:

{{gwi:1014332}}

Okay, now for the price list... starting at the cheapest.

Coke bottle, cut down and curled under - free (after I drank the Coke)

32 oz soda cup from the gas station - free (after I drank the soda)

Straw to use as tube for air/water feed - free (came with soda cup)

Water resevoir (large bowl from a $ store) - $0.99

Aquarium air pump from Walmart - $6.95

Aquarium air hose from Walmart - 1/2 of $0.98

Which comes to a grand total of $8.92, not including the growing media. Since I bought a HUGE bag of small pine bark for $2.98 and used only a tiny bit of it for this, I'll say it cost me $0.08 for this unit... for a total of $9.00

Now, the coolest part, no glue or any other adhesive is required. Into the lid, I cut a small hole, just big enough to fit the bottle neck through, but smaller than the diameter of the lid. I simply screwed the bottle neck through and then screwed the lid onto it on the other side. Solid, tight seal. Oh yeah, I drilled a 1/2" hole into the cap so water can go through.

Into the soda cup, I poked many holes with a soldering Iron. In the middle of the cup, I carefully melted a slightly larger hole just BARELY big enough to fit the gas-station straw through ( CAREFUL, HAVE TO GET ONE OF THE BIG STRAWS. MCDONALDS STRAWS WOULD WORK PERFECTLY ) and then simply slide the straw into it and it will hold firm.