Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happybasil

PH help!! New to hydroponics

happybasil
10 years ago

as stated I am new to this. is there an idiots guide? My elevation is 6669 feet in west yellowstone, mt. working on a limited budget. I am growing tomatos, basil, mint, cilantro, chives. or attemting to. The plants were/ are doing pretty well. I have a vertical pvc ladder rotating water system. i have it in a mudroom with windows on 3 sides and the heat is a constant 60-80 degrees. Water ph here is 7.5. i know I have been doing this wrong and it just recently clicked. I have been using the plant nutrients as ph down. I know wrong wrong wrong. If I put the correct amount of nutrients in the water the PH is WAY low. can I use something natural like baking soda to bring it up or should I use actual ph up for hydroponics? also debating placing an air pump with airstones in the pump bucket is that needed? If its gets day/sun light min of 12 hours do I need a grow light? (pricey). thanks to anyone and everyone for any advice!

Comments (4)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

The pH of the fertilizer blend in your water is on the acidic side if I understand what you are saying:

If I put the correct amount of nutrients in the water the PH is WAY low

But it is confusing the way you relate what's going on because you say to the effect you are 'using the nutes in lieu of pH down'. So does this mean you put them in at half strength and then keep the pH down by regular supplementation of additional fertilizer?