Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freemangreens

Growing Tips -- Hydroponic Tomatoes

freemangreens
15 years ago

I'm switching gears (summer/winter) and ran across this article about using a "static" hydroponic system to grow tomatoes:

http://www.schundler.com/biotech.htm

It's a comprehensive, short read worth taking a look at.

:O)

Comments (5)

• grizzman
    15 years ago

I don't like perlite because its not recycle-able. I prefer lava rock or giver gravel. either can be autoclaved to sterilize and reused indefinitely and both are inert too.
    They do weigh a bit more, but that can be a plus if you're relying on the medium to hold the plants up until they get some size to them.
    Just my thoughts.

• freemangreens
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Heck, the package says it is re-usable. That was my plan -- reuse the stuff.

I don't have an autoclave, but my plan is to stick a plastic pot full of perlite into the microwave for about 15 seconds on high.

I'm a plumber and keep a loaf of bread on my truck to assist me in certain soldering jobs. To keep the loaf "fresh", I "nuke" it in the microwave for 10 seconds each time I use a slice. I've had the same loaf for nearly a year now, so that tells me the microwave is killing all the wee beasties! It also makes me question the food value of things eaten after being cooked in one of those beasts!!

Well, that's my plan.

• joe.jr317
    15 years ago

I've wondered the same thing about nutritional value after nuking. It does seem that something nuked goes longer without ever going bad.