Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sven556

nutrients and lights for lettuce?

sven556
13 years ago

I'm trying to grow a constant supply of lettuce (rough figuring 2 heads a week). Using a DWC setup, growing mostly romaine with black simpson occasionally. Is there a simple nutrient solution? I've read 2 tsp miracle grow and 1 tsp epsom salts (unsure what quantity of water this was for). I'm not afraid of buying or ordering a premixed solution. Also, I have a good multimeter can I measure the conductivity of the solution with that? I don't have and prefer not to buy an EC and PH meter? And, how often should I change my nutrient solution?

What type of lighting should I have? I have a space about 7ft wide and a couple feet deep. Can I fit 16 plants in there? I'm thinking about 2-4 32w flourescent bulbs either t5 or t8. Which would be more efficient?

This is my first attempt at hydroponics so any hints, tips or advice is appreciated!

Thanks,

Sven

Comments (12)

• halfway
    13 years ago

I am posting an updated video on the "Lettuce and Basil in Fill and Drain (Ebb and Flow System)" thread on this forum.

I went with CNS 17 for the nutes as it calculated out as very economical over several cycles.

I also took some online advice and moved the nutrient change out to 3 weeks instead of 2. That was good advice as IâÂÂm a couple days shy of the 3 weeks, and they are only now showing signs of no2 weakness. And that is only very small signs.

I am using the nutrients at half strength as they have been in the hydro system since 1 November and germinated a week or so before that.. When I change the solution, I will up it to full strength as the growth is now very heavy.

Here is the vid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ObpoFxEPxU

My blog outlining the project from the beginning is at the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hydroponic ebb and flow system blog

• sven556
    Original Author
    13 years ago