Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimbob007_gw

Hydroponic Pump Recommendations?

jimbob007
11 years ago

Hi

This is my very first attempt at Hydroponics.

I would greatly appreciate all and any input on what size submersible pump I'm to use for a setup like this(on photo)

In the Bucket system I would like to grow Tomato's, Sweet Peppers and Cucumbers.

In the Rail(pipe) system I would like to plant herbs and lettuce.

Both will be on a drip method and the Rail system will then be a combo of drip and flow system.

Would I be able to feed all this through my 150L reservoir?

Is one pump good enough and what size?

Eagerly awaiting any replies...

N

Comments (3)

• cole_robbie
    11 years ago

That is a very ambitious attempt for a first time! I don't think it's impossible, though.

4" pvc is pretty small. You might consider 6" - the 4" will work for peppers and determinate/compact growth tomatoes. It will be too small for big tomato plants and for cukes. The roots clog up the pipe.

The rail side is going to require a big pump, and you will have to be careful about the pump heating the reservoir. Higher quality/higher price pumps tend to put out less heat. You could probably stick a $30 sump pump in there and make it work, but the next day, your nutrient solution's temperature would be like a hot tub. In addition to having enough power, you'll want a pump that is designed to run all the time.

Be sure to get emitters that drip out the same amount of solution, regardless of pump pressure, because your pressure will be much lower at the far end of your rails.

Also, I'd be concerned about sediment from your hydroton clogging up the lines. There should be a filter somewhere, and if you use new hydroton, remember to wash it very well to get all the dust off.

I put a good site for pump-shopping below. I have no affiliation with them. Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Pump Agents

• jimbob007
    Original Author
    11 years ago