Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
efm7

Noobie Lettuce Raft Problems

efm7
13 years ago

Hi there, I am currently attempting to grow "Green Deer Tongue" lettuce in a raft under a couple of high output T5's growing using Pure Blend Vegetative nutrient solution.

My lettuce is looking very thin and tender...

This is my first attempt at growing anything since i grew beans in wet napkins in kindergarten. LOL

this is my guesses as to what the problem could be:

- wrong variety of lettuce to grow hydroponically

- lights were initially too little and too far away (corrected this recently by adding a second T5 and placing them closer to the plans)

- bubbles from air stone not getting consistent coverage

- plants grown in jiffies were put into the system too soon (no roots were sticking out)

any advice is appreciated.

Comments (16)

• sid
    13 years ago

If it helps any, there's a step-by-step guide at this site with weekly pictures: http://www.aerogardenmastery.com/drupal/content/lettuce-raft-type-system

From my perspective I'd say your light may have been too far away, it would also be worthwhile checking your EC to make sure they are getting the required amount of feed.

Sid

• homehydro
    13 years ago

I don't' use artificial lighting so I don't have any first hand experience with it. But I to would be wondering about there being enough light intensity. But taking a closer look at the pictures, I think the roots are suffocating. The water level looks like it goes all the way up to the top of the growing medium. I set the water level so that only a small amount of the baskets are submerged. That is enough to wick up moisture but not suffocate the roots in it.