Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dataspy

Leaf curl and dying leaves

dataspy
10 years ago

Newbie here trying out hydroponics as a hobby. I'm growing 3 basil plants and three hot pepper trinidad scorpion plants inside of a hybrid aeroponic/dwc setup that I built.

Problem:
Leaves curling up, this has been happening for at least 3 weeks and now lower leaves are starting to die. One of the trinidad scorpion plants leaves are twisted as well.

Info:
Nutrients: General Hydroponics Flora Series
Light: 90W LED Grow Light Lighthouse
Water: 5 gallons of RO water that is around 300 PPM before I ad nutes
Temp: around 70-73

I've only fertilized twice, once after about two weeks which was very weak 12.5 ml of each nutrient and then three weeks later which was also very weak. I was thinking I should change the res every week but wanted to see if I could get away with a longer time between changes to save on nutrient cost.

Oddly I haven't added any water since I changed the water about three weeks ago, it doesn't look like a lot has been used.

PH is good, I check every other day, the first week it was a little off now and then but now it's always on target. Usually stays around 5.8

I also attached a pic of a basil plant when it was only 2 weeks old when the leaf curl started.

Any tips or help would be appreciated!

Here is a link that might be useful: Video of leaf curl

Comments (3)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

What do you mean by Water: 5 gallons of RO water that is around 300 PPM before I ad nutes ?RO water ppm is usually well under 10 ppm.

If you are using such dilute nutrients and if by: weak 12.5 ml of each nutrient and then three weeks later which was also very weak, you mean you are using about two teaspoons of Grow, Bloom and Micro (total 6 teaspoons) as the total nutrient in your 5 gallon solution, then your plants are nutrient starving and the older leave might be dying as the plants send certain limiting nutrients from the old growth to the young ones.