Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mux_rollik

Lettuce leaves wilting

mux_rollik
10 years ago

Hello,

I am new to hydroponics so my question could sound easy to you guys. I have planted my lettuce romaine 27 days ago. I am using GHE FloraSeries minerals. My Ph is 6.3, air temperature in front of the plants is 22c and water temperature is the same 22c. My water timer is set to 10 minutes on and 50 minutes off. I am using 4 T8 bulbs for 12 hours every day. My rockwool cubes are inside of the 50mm tubes, so they are wet. I moved the seedlings to my system 19 days ago. Everything was going good up until a few days ago and leaves are wilting. I attached the most recent photo.

In advance thank you for your help.

-Max

Comments (8)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

I don't understand exactly what I am looking at, but you comment that those black tubes you have the plants mounted into are 2", and it looks to me like the distance between each plant center to its neighbor is only about 3".

There seems to be a small irrigation line in the image too, but how that services the roots I can't guess.

How big are the rock wool mounts, how much of the path do they obstruct before adding the growing root mass, and how smooth is the through flowrate at this point - have you noted a drop off in that? People have all kinds of creative systems, but your roots may have just reached the point of filling out their very small allotted space (can you peak?) and also wonder how much oxygen is getting to downstream even if it is still open enough, is their less wilting on the ones that receive nutrient first?

• mux_rollik
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hello,

Thank you for your reply.