Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thelaughingman

Educational Resources

TheLaughingMan
11 years ago

I am just getting into hydroponics and researching as much as I can before I dive into starting my first system. Does anyone know of any books or in depth websites that explain a lot. I have found forums and some sites that explain basics however I want to know more then just how to build a system and run it.

I haven't seen anything that explains what each systsm is good for other then Deep Water is good for leafy plants like lettuce. I am wating to start with some hot peppers and was wanting to do either a drip system or a ebb and flow.

Comments (4)

• cole_robbie
    11 years ago

Most of the free resources come from university extension programs and are aimed at helping small farmers. There are also a lot of free youtube videos that will at least show you examples of different systems.

• grizzman
    11 years ago

And the reality is all systems work great for all plants. It comes down to what type of system you like to run.
    For/To me:

NFT: light weight, tight and flexible spacing, less nutrient
    but its more subject to crop failure is a pump goes bad and is a bit more technical in nature. doesn't work well with plants with large root systems.
    EnF: tight, though fixed plant spacing. should retain water well so only needs watering a couple times a day. if plants are in individual containers, they can be moved and transplanted easily. don't have to worry about aeration.
    But, they're heavy. they can build up salts in the medium causing uptake issues. you have to make sure your drain system doesn't get clogged.
    DWC: plants dying from lack of water is almost a moot point. low maintenance.
    but, they're the heaviest of systems. you have to make sure the water is aerated. they're more susceptible to moisture related infections such as pythium.