Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skoka123

Nutrient Vs Water PPM

skoka123
14 years ago

Hi,

I am new to Hydroponics and I have two newbie questions.

1) My water PPM is 300. I want nutrient PPM of 500. In such a case after adding the nutrient should I be aiming for a PPM of 800?

2) Should I use underground water (borewell) that has been softened by a water softening unit (ion exchange method of water softening) or Reverse Osmosis (RO) water? The underground water PPM is 300 PPM while the RO is The underground water after softening would have the calcium carbonate converted to sodium carbonate and calcium chloride. I am not sure what happens to the magnesium in the water (probably magnesium chloride).

Thanks,

Srikanth

Comments (10)

• greystoke
    14 years ago

Q: My water PPM is 300. I want nutrient PPM of 500. In such a case after adding the nutrient should I be aiming for a PPM of 800?
    A: Yes, definetely

Q:Should I use underground water (borewell) that has been softened by a water softening unit (ion exchange method of water softening) or Reverse Osmosis (RO) water? The underground water PPM is 300 PPM while the RO is
    A: I would bypass the water softener. It introduces sodium, which is not such a good idea for plants.
    One thing you could consider is to cut down on your calcium content, since that comes free with your borewell water. Bonus !

• lucas_formulas
    14 years ago

Hi Srikanth
    Actually not a newbie question, rather a though-one...

>>1) My water PPM is 300. I want nutrient PPM of 500. In such a case after adding the nutrient should I be aiming for a PPM of 800?In case your water would have 100, 150 or even a little more, I'd recommend to aim for a total of (X=water ppm) X plus your 500 ppm, regardless what the composition of your water was, except high chlorine or sodium.