Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jesse_83

Tomato Plant troubleshooting help!

Jesse_83
13 years ago

Hi all, I'm pretty new at growing hydroponically and I'm having problems with my tomato plant. Materials are as follows:

3 x 23 watt daylight cfl with reflectors

4 liter bucket (from commercial baking shortening)

Air stone, air pump, and checkalve

Ionic Bloom liquid nutrients (3-2-6 and using for all stages)

Brita-filtered water

3" netted hydro basket with rapid rooter in perlite

pH is 5.7

lights are on 18 and off for 6 hrs a day.

plant began to germinate about a month ago.

up until a week ago I used no nutrients, then last week I began to use tiny amounts of the liquid nutrient (3ml) in 4 liters of water. directions call for 5ml per liter, but many claim that over-fertilization is a common mistake for beginners, so I went light on the nutrients. also, there are little bumps all over the lower portion of the stem and slowly appearing further up the stem (past the first node) are these bumps normal on a tomato stem or is this a sign of desease? The leafs are curling over, and turning yellow with chlorotic spots which eventually turn into over a dozen clustered bumps on the leafs and the rest you will have to look at the pictures to understand. please note the picture with new growth which is slightly curled leafs but looks fine.

my thoughts are that maybe initially starving it of nutrients would cause this, or maybe the plant is diseased. if you can help me figure this out it would really help! thanks.

photos available at these links:

http://s662.photobucket.com/albums/uu342/henleyphotography/Tomato%20Plant%20Problems/

Here is a link that might be useful: photobucket tomato album

Comments (9)

• homehydro
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago