Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amanda84_gw

New to Hydro

Amanda84
10 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to hydroponics system and currently growing basil & cabbage. Would appreciate if someone could advise me on the following:

1) i realized some of my plants roots are discolored by nutrients. It's no longer white ( as it is supposed to be), but it the roots turns to be blue-ish ( just like the color of my nutrients)

2) some of my plants roots are very slim. is it normal?

3) I normally add 10ml of nutrients into 10L of water, just as my other friends taught me. Is this the correct?

thank you

Comments (6)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

Hi Amanda, glad to see you are trying out hydroponics with some great veggie selections. You don't provide enough info or pictures of the situation for any of the questions, so the advise is equally general. We need to know what nutrients exactly you are using to say for sure but if it is a liquid nutrient formula (since you are measuring in ml), in a typical, not drain to waste, system, it may be too weak.

Plant roots come in all sizes and some are slim, especially new growth in a well aerated system - more info on what you mean by 'some' needed, better yet a picture.

Your nutrients may contain a food colorant if it really is bluing. Food coloring is generally harmless, and you said you are using what fertilizer product exactly?

• robert_1943
    10 years ago

I agree with what Pupilla has said, one of my nutrients is blue in colour which I have been using for several years and as mentioned is a harmless food colour, so I would not worry or be concerned.
    Enjoy hydroponics and keep up the good work, if you do have any future photos to post , I would like to see these, as I am sure others would also.

• Amanda84
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi,

My home hydroponic okra & cherry tomatoes. Do let me know if i'm doing it wrong

• Amanda84
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi,