Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
capnkate

Best way to get into hydroculture for a beginner?

CapnKate
10 years ago

I've been a gardener for a few years, but I've never tried hydroculture before. I have some pothos that I've propagated from cuttings in water, and I'd like to pot them in a no-soil mix. I've been confused by all I've read on this site--some use clay pellets, some use sawdust, some use perlite... What should I use? Also, what about nutrients? I tried using regular houseplant food on a pothos I had growing in a jar of water, but the roots turned to mush! Also, do I need to use a cache-pot and an inside pot, or will one pot be okay? Do I need to use a straw for checking the water level, or not? I'd like to minimize the amount of stuff I have to buy.

Comments (9)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago