Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spitflux

No roots

Spitflux
10 years ago

Hello everyone!

I am new to growing hydroponically and would really appreciate some help from those of you who are more knowledgeable.

On Dec 1st, 2013 I started a DWC system with the purpose of growing vegetables. I started the seeds directly into the system, without lights or water in the recipient. Most plants germinated after 1 week (heirloom tomatoes, basil and onion). After about 2 weeks into it, I noticed that most plants germinated but all are very weak, so I decided to get myself grow lights (150W HPS system) which I am now keeping about 3 feet above the plants. I also added the water with nutrients to the recipient and started the air pump. I have 14 Ga of water inside the recipient which sits about 2 inches below the net pots.

I do not have an electronic PH tester, as I am using simple one from General Hydroponics. I adjusted water to about 6.0 and then didn't do anything since.

The light works on a timer with 12h cycles and the air pump work 3 hours ON then 2 hours OFF.

After 4 weeks, my plants still don't have any roots coming out.

I've attached a photo in case it helps to diagnose. Thank you all!

Comments (3)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi and welcome to this very fun stuff. I'm sure there are more expert folk out there but since I've been dealing with root issues for months now, probably I can make some suggestion that might help.