Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
halfway_gw

My first Deep Water Culture System

halfway
13 years ago

Just finished this and created a vid for the blog to share. This will be used for additional production and will free up the ebb and flow for additional; basil varieties and cilantro.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dxT8wceO03E

Here is a link that might be useful: My hydroponics adventure

Comments (25)

• homehydro
    13 years ago

Saw the video, Look forward to seeings your plants grow. Great looking setup. It's contagious isnt it?

• halfway
    Original Author
    13 years ago

"It's contagious isnt it?"

Extremely!

Here is a link that might be useful: My Hydroponic Adventure

• alpharetta
    13 years ago

Great video and instructions. Thanks a lot for posting it. I am a newbie in hydroponic and definetly will learn a lot from yours. I have few questions:

1.The rock to put on the net pot, what is it called and where we can buy it? From homedepot or lowes?

2. How we will renew the water/liquid inside the box? Do we have to change the water every two weeks?

Thanks
    alpharetta

• grizzman
    13 years ago

not a bad video halfway.
    I personally have gone to using black hose for the airline. its basically hose for drip systems from the hardware store.
    With time, that clear line sometimes gets to looking pretty bad.
    Also, you can use a dab of silicon on the bottom of the airstones to hold them down.
    you should mention you always want to keep your air pump higher than you rez so in case of failure, the water doesn't siphon out.
    alpharetta,
    you can use hydroton from a hydro shop or, if you use 3" pots" lava rock from the hardware store works fine too.