Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aram_s

Hydroponic peppers

aram_s
14 years ago

Hey garden web! this is my first posting here but have been reading here for a while

the reason why i finally decided to sign up is because i've been growing peppers hydroponically for a couple of months now with poor results.

i recently cut down the nutrient solution to half its strength and the ph solution is at 6.2

i use a 200 watt CFL for a 2x3ft area and recently added some small 42 watt CFLs.

the leave on 3 of my plants are wilting and have been for some time and 2 other plants are short with huge leaves and the leaves are curling inwards and upwards. i'll upload pictures as soon as my camera's battery gets charged.

in the meantime any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks!

Comments (22)

• greystoke
    14 years ago

pH 6.2 is OK
    Can you tell us more about the nutrient solution you use ?
    Peppers can be heavy feeders, while maturing.

• grizzman
    14 years ago

wilting leaves generally means they're not getting enough water. big green leaves curling around often means excess nitrogen.
    Nutrient information would definitely be good.
    As you're sitting at about two months, are you seeing flowers yet? if so, do they appear to all be dropping?

• alex818
    14 years ago

Barev Aram,

Curling upwards can sometimes mean that the lights are too close. A true 200 watt CFL can definitely get hot and stress the plant. What type of hydro method are you using to grow?

• aram_s
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I use nutri plus (it's made in QC so might not be very popular lol) but it's a 2 part solution and it's 5-0-2 and 1-5-8.