Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
firemansmom

New to Idaho

firemansmom
17 years ago

I checked this forum out a couple of times and no posts and I hate to be the only one so I am glad there are some posts now.

I am new to Idaho, moved here in May from SW Oregon, I live in Parma now and gardening here is going to be a whole new experience. I live in farm country so I know things grow good here. Several plants that I brought with me from Oregon have already died or are looking like they want to go back home. I usually post on the garden junk forum because I do alot of crafting and TS shopping for my garden.

Anyway hope to meet some more Idahoians (is that what we are?)

firemansmom

Comments (7)

• terrybull
    17 years ago

wheres parma? so many zones to much time.(for the best tomatoes ive ever grown)

• firemansmom
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Parma is near Caldwell and Nampa, it is about 50 miles from Boise.

• irishpat
    17 years ago

I live in Sand Hollow which is down the road just a bit from you toward Ontario, OR. I moved here from Northern California (near Tahoe) where we got snow in winter, but winter lasted about 2 months. Living here has been different. The growing season seems like it's much shorter. Spring is really short and then hot, hot weather....as you can see. Also where we live in Idaho, the wind blows like crazy and it helps to make the soil like concrete. I have ag land all around me. Last year we had a terrible time with voles (tiny moles) that tore up our entire property including the garden. My husband would literally kill 15-25 of them each day when he came home. This year they are not around....maybe they got the hint.

Your plants are going to notice how DRY it is here, whereas in Oregon it's more humid. It's a major climate change for them. Good luck in Parma!

• hummerlover
    17 years ago

Hello!