Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike48858

Questions from a first-timer

mike48858
18 years ago

Hi all!

I am going to try to start my own Impatiens from seed this year. I understand the seeds take a long time to germinate.

How long before the last frost date should they be started?

When should they be pinched back so the plant will be bushier?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comment (1)

• brander
    18 years ago

I don't have my seed packets handy right now so I won't be able to be specific, but I've been starting impatiens from seed for several years now and haven't noticed that they take any longer than it says on the pkt. of seeds to germinate. I think it's around 10 days, but mine normally germinate more quickly because I put the container about 4' away from our wood stove.

Our last frost date is around May 25, but yours may be a little earlier even though you are also in zone 5. I would suggest you count back 10 to 12 weeks from your last frost date and sow the impatiens seeds then. For me that would be mid March. That should give you plenty of time to grow them out to the size you want before planting out. If you want bushy plants it's important to keep the light source about 4" above the plants at all times. I use grow lights and move the lights up as the plants grow. If you are going to grow them in a greenhouse I guess they would get enough light that way too. I don't recall pinching back my impatiens as they grow slowly.