Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashley_minnig

Question for tom8olvr !!!!

ashley_minnig
15 years ago

I had a question if you were willing to answer. First I must say how awesome your impatiens look! You are obviously are very, very skilled in growing them! So I just started impatiens for the very first time indoors march 1st!

My question is what light do you grow your plants under?

I have a two bulb 4" fluorescent fixture that has two cool white bulbs is them what do you use??

I can say that if you have any reccomendations for growing impatiens I sure could benefit from your great experiance !!!!!

I would to love to learn from someone that that starts them in there home!

It would be so great to learn and be able to have so many flowers to enjoy and share my extra plants with family! Thanx so much for sharing all your pictures. I just seen them the first time on this forum!

Comments (19)

• tom8olvr
    15 years ago

I'm slightly embarrassed, b/c I'm sorry, I'm no expert. I certainly appreciate your compliments though!
    I buy 'grow' lights, but I'm not sure they're necessary. I have
    a friend who has fine luck with regular flourescent lights/bulbs.
    This is my set up:
    {{gwi:430428}}
    Nothing big... I have 3 steel racks going and I do have a
    4' light in the basement.

Please keep us posted on how you do!

Thanks!

• ashley_minnig
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Tom8olvr,
    Thanks so much for your reply! I think you should call yourself the home growing expert, but again that's just me!! I started a flat and a half for the first time with impatiens and really could use some guidance! I saw how well your impatiens were doing last year and thought, if I can do that that would be so awesome! So here I am hopefully trying to learn from anyone I can.

I started sowing the seeds on march 1st and they started sprouting march 5!
    I was pretty excited because the packet says it takes 14-21 days!