Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bonbon_ak

Double impatiens

bonbon_ak
20 years ago

Hi I am new to the garden web and love to check in. Does anyone have any experience with starting double impatien seeds. I started accent impatiens and double seeds at the same time and place. The accents did very well but the doubles were only about 20 per cent. Is there a difference in the way I should have started the double impatien seeds? Thanks Bon

Comments (10)

• kdjoergensen
    20 years ago

We had similar experiences as you did. Appearantly they are extremely sensitive. You need to keep fantastic hygine around these seeds or they will damp off immediately. Two years in a row we had entire flats die within a day.

It is recommended to use a sterile growing media without any starter nutrient and ensure as much aeration in the media as you can. Cover the seeds with a very light layer of fine vermiculite to keep humidity high around the seeds. Grow them between 72 and 77 deg F and keep an eye on them for germination. When the radicle penetrates the growing media, vent immediately as too wet conditions will result in instant damping off.

• joy4me
    20 years ago

I haven't found the seeds around where I am for the doubles. Last year I brought my doubles indoors for the winter and babied them through, then took cuttings again a few weeks ago as they were a bit leggy. They seem to be doing fine, though I don't get much sun indoors.

Does anyone know if seeds from the doubles flowers revert back to single or grow true to the mother plant?

My doubles looked beautiful last year! Like two foot tall, full little rose bushes and bloomed all season. I'd love to try seeds for next year too.

Joy

• ohiogal
    20 years ago