Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
justjoy_gw

Impatien seed harvesting

justjoy
18 years ago

I'm new to impatiens but have fallen in love with their gorgeous variety. I'm just having a problem with harvesting the seeds of one variety and unfortunately I don't know it's proper name. It's a simple five petaled pink flower with what looks to be a green seed in the middle of the petals. As the petals fall away all that's left is the green seedlike part and the stem. What I'm trying to find out is if infact this really is a seed or not. I've attempted to harvest and immediately plant them but haven't have any luck. I've also tried to dry them before planting but they just disintegrate. I have however, to my great delight, found several baby impatiens cropping up around my original plant. so I know there's hope. Thank you so much for any help you can offer =0)

Comments (11)

• periwinkle_MD
    18 years ago

Hello JustJoy,

I, like you, attempted to harvest seeds from my impatients last year. I live in Washington, D.C. and spring is in the air for us now. I planted my seeds and to my joy they are now little seedlings. Mind you, I have to wait for a long time (30 days at least) for them to germinate - a lot of patience were called for. I nearly gave up hope! I guess their namesake is meant to be for us. Anyway, back to your question...

The greenlike pod is not the seed. It is the container of the seeds. Inside the pod, there are many tiny black seeds. You pop the pods with your fingers so that you may collect the seeds but please do this in an evelope so that the seeds won't fly everywhere. I guess you are saving them for your next summer. According to Mr. Impatient and some posts, you may have to freeze them. I did not but kept my seeds in a dry place.

Hope the above helps. Best of luck!

Periwinkle

• MrImpatiens
    18 years ago