Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liana789plants

Questions about growing Impatien seeds

liana789plants
20 years ago

Hi,

This is the first time that I'm trying to grow impatiens walleriana from seeds. Last year, I harvested seeds from an impatien with red and white striped flowers. I would like to know 1) do impatien seeds need light to germinate or should I cover them with soil, 2) will the seedlings come true (in other words, will they bloom the same kind of flowers as their parent) and 3) how long should it take for them to bloom. Sorry if these questions have been answered before, but I'm fairly new to growing impatiens as well as to this forum. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    20 years ago

They need light, sow on the surface.
    They won't come true. Could be all red, all white, some with stripes, mixed, anything could happen :)
    It takesa a minimum of 8 weeks from sowing to first flowers, possibly more depending on your growing conditions.

Your seeds will need to be in a plastic bag or covered with a dome to keep humidity high. The temperature must be kept above 65F day and night until the leaves appear, the ideal temperature is around 75F.

• liana789plants
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks for the helpful info!

• kdjoergensen
    20 years ago

1. they need light, so press the seeds into the soil but do not cover. make sure the soil is very moist.

avoid using growing media with fertilizer. impatiens germinate poorly and seedlings may be mis-shaped if high levels of fertilizer. try to use one without fertilizer.

2. I doubt the hybrid seeds will come true to type, but they should do great anyway

3. normally I say 10 weeks from planting to flowering, but a few hybrid seeds which has been preparred by the growers may flower in 8 weeks.