Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missij

Impatiens shriveling

missij
17 years ago

My impatiens seem to be shriveling up and dying. This is my first garden, so I am still learning. When do I need to pinch the petals?

Comments (8)

• greenhouser
    17 years ago

Pinch the petals? Could they need more water?

• scooppc11
    16 years ago

I was going to ask this same question, and I hope I don't have to replace the ones I just bought. Mine have also shriveled, and am looking for advice, myself. So I don't hijack your thread, I'll do a separate post.

• sophiaz
    16 years ago

I am in SW Ohio and found this thread interesting. I have 15 impatiens in the back yard plot...get sun until about 1pm or so but MANY OLD fashioned impatiens in this area can grow in FULL SUN ALL DAY if you water them. A store nearby with only concrete around a planter had gorgeous impatiens all last summer.

They must have had special sand soil or something. The impatiens in my yard, some are doing well, the others are struggling or starting to shrivel. WORSE SOMETHING is eating the flowers and the hot pepper wax spray isn't working this year?

The ones in the front of the house, where I had them last year, mostly shade are doing better tho bunnies must be getting to them as the blooms disappear.

Still the inconsitencty in the back yard ones have me confused. I have put some in pots in the same sunny area..they are doing better but ALSO getting eaten. SHEESH.

I am only a few years into gardening and had to trim my impatiens for getting so leggy? Good luck with your shriveled impatiens.

It was hot, then cool, then warm again here so they are staying watered...but a couple have shriveled up and almost flat.

Weird.

• lindac
    16 years ago

Shriveled impatiens are usually suffering from lack of water. If they don't have enough sun, they don't shrivel, they just don't bloom. If they have that fungus that they gat, they don't shrivel they just rot at the soil line and fall over.
    Water!!