Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

911 call from my ng impatiens(pics)

v1rt
14 years ago

I need help very badly. It's my first time to own an impatiens annual. I purchased it last week. It was really beautiful at the time of purchase. However, today, the green leaves are turning red and some are brown like what you see on pic. Other leaves are drooping.

Right now, it's still on the plastic pot. I just put it on my urn. It's in front of the house which is facing east. So it gets morning sun until maybe 12 or 1pm.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (7)

• MrImpatiens
    14 years ago

My guess would be too much sun. They look as though they are burning. The leaves turning red is normal will they get lots of light. If your plant was in a very shaded area at the nursery the leaves will adapt for that but when put in too light they will burn. The older leaves look as though they are the only ones affected and these would have been used to the shade and would be the first to burn as they have a larger surface area to be affected.

• v1rt
    Original Author
    14 years ago

When I saw it at Home Depot, it was directly underneath a 5 level shelf. So light was indirect. Do you think it's getting too much sun or could it be that the old leaves are not use too it? If latter, I can keep it at the same location and see how the new leaves are going to perform.

Should I remove them from plastic pot and put them directly to my urn? Also, is water on the leaves and flowers bad for this plant? I noticed something the other day when the water dried. My guess is that the water acted like a magnifying glass then it burned it.

Thanks!

• v1rt
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I forgot to ask, is it true that we don't need to deadhead impatiens, they just keep on blooming?

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

No you don't need to deadhead impatiens. Yes water on leaves of any plant in the hot sun will cause damage like yours but with impatiens it is more so.