Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kyla76_gw

Impatien seeds

kyla76
14 years ago

I have so many questions, you guys are going to get sick of me..lol.

I'm not having any luck catching the impatien seed pods at the right time. I'll pull something off, pop it open and find an unopened bloom. Maybe I don't know exactly what I'm looking for? I've looked at dozens of pictures and am still not getting it right. Any input would be appreciated!

Comments (10)

• taz6122
    14 years ago

Not sure about all impatiens but on mine the seed pods are fuzzy like a peach and the blooms are not. I have balsam and some pink hybrids. This is my first year with impatiens and love them. My first seed pods are just about ready judging by pictures on other threads. Good luck!

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

The seed pods of impatiens is elongated. I don't think they are fuzzy at least I've never seen fuzzy ones and I've been growing them for many years. They are usually impossible to miss because most stick out from the flowers. They are longer than a flower bud and come to a point with a swelling in the middle. Wrap your hand around the seed pod and push down slightly on the pod with your thumb. If it's ripe it will pop open and the seeds will fly. Hence the name impatiens

• taz6122
    14 years ago

oilpainter it's hard to believe that someone growing them for years can't feel or see the fuzz.

Kyla flower bud on the left and seed pod on the right.

• taz6122
    14 years ago

Sorry I should have chose a ripe pod but just wanted to show the fuzz. This is a ripe pod below. The general rule I follow is the shape of the pod, being banana shaped when ripe(First picture). It also has a almost transparent spot on the pod (second picture) and the popped pod and seeds(Third picture).

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

taz6122