Return to the Impatiens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dying impatients in a rail box

Posted by goyanks34 NY (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 21, 06 at 20:26

Hi. I am new to this forum and I am an amateur! I planted impatients in 3 rail boxes and one box is thriving, in one box all of the flowers in the middle of the box "crumble" after several days and in the other box there is a smaller section that has a "dead" spot. In all of the other spots they are doing well, though some seem to be growin "flat" instead of up. I used soil I had from last year(left out over winter) mixed with new miracle grow moisture control and I lined the bottom with pebbles and some lava rocks when I ran out of pebbles (I was told this helps drainage) In my one big pot planter, the double impatients I planted also wilted and crumbled after a week (no rockes, last year's soil and the pot is very large). When I replanted more in the dead spots, they also died. I also use miracle grow flower bloom food in the water about once a week.
Any suggestions?
Thanks!
Jennifer

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dying impatients in a rail box

Jennifer- when did you plant the first round of them, and when did you plant the replacements for the first dead ones? Also- what type of growing conditions insofar as sun/shade/amounts are they getting? I've had some "flat" growers myself this year, but they've finally started rallying to grow up instead of out.
-Nan

o
RE: Dying impatients in a rail box