Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ayesha_2424

Trouble Rooting Impatiens In Water

Ayesha_2424
11 years ago

Hello all � I am new to the forum. Happy to be here and hope to obtain and receive lots of helpful hints from the plant gurus on the forum.

Here is my problem�.A few days ago, I noticed one of my impatiens was limp and distressed. The others planted next to it were both fine so I decided to put cuttings from the upset plant in water in an effort to save it. All was well, the clippings perked a few hours after being cut. The next day however, some were limp. This morning I noticed even more were limp. They are sitting in a indoor greenhouse with filtered light from a large window.

Any advice on what is going on? This is my first time propagating impatiens. I am accustomed to placing plants in water and after a few days or weeks depending on the plant type, they root and thrive. Once roots are established, I move them to dirt and viola I have a new plant. Having some issues now.. please help. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• dowlinggram
    11 years ago

It is not the ideal way to take cuttings from a distressed or sick plant and rooting in water is not the ideal way to root anything. Cuttings should be taken from a healthy plant. The best way to root cuttings is with rooting hormone and in soil. Here is how I tale my cuttings and I seldom have ant die.

First you must make sure everything you use is very clean. In a clean pail mix your soil with the water so you make sure the soil is damp right through. Use a soilless mix that is free draining. You want the soil wet but not too wet. Squeeze a handful and some moisture should come out but not a lot. Fill your pots and make a little hole in the center with your finger or something else that will make a small hole so you don't knock off the hormone. Using a small pot it is easier to control the moisture level.