Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamlover

Any of You have Buck Roses?? +'s or _'s??

jamlover
20 years ago

I'm not very familiar with the Buck roses developed at Iowa State. (My old stomping ground in the 50's)

Do any of your raise them and if so which ones. Your opinion of each would be appreciated.

I'm listed zone 5 but I am on the line of Z4. Everything in Ames was always ahead of things at home when I was a student. I'm probably 75 miles north. Jean

Comments (23)

• ladylavender
    20 years ago

Jean, where are you located? I'm in Belmond which is 60 miles north of Ames. I was lucky enough to listen to a talk in Fort Dodge given by Buck's daughter. I've been thinking about getting some ever since. Hope you get lots of responses and information.
    mary

• iowa_jade
    20 years ago

I have a few:

'Rural Rhythm' - beautiful - rabbit food in the past. This year should do better as moved behind a rabbit proof fence. We will see how "that" works also.

'Distant Drums' a great plant, highly recommended. the contrast in colors make a beautiful shrub.

'Gentle Persuasion', 'Paloma Blanca' are too new for me to comment on yet. Seem to be doing well.

Sam Kedem http://www.kedemroses.com/ has a nice selection.

http://www.ag.iastate.edu/centers/cad/rose1.html

is another link. They list many vendors.

After I get my soil ready for some more roses I will probably get a few more Buck roses.

Have fun!

Here is a link that might be useful: Buck roses

• BelgianRose
    20 years ago

There is a great display of Griffith Buck roses at the Reiman Gardens at ISU (near Hilton Coliseum). The display has many varieties.

You might want to see them in bloom before you commit. The one that had the greatest eye appeal to me was 'Country Dancer," which is highly rated by independent sources for its hardiness and disease resistance.