Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ramona5

Advice for a Newbie?

Ramona5
19 years ago

hello gardenwebbers,

i'm brand new to iowa and gardening. my husband and i just moved to iowa city from san francisco and now that my first (ever!) tulips are poking through, i think i'm hooked! do any of you have advice about good books that particularly pertain to iowa or the midwest that would be useful to someone who had to look up "annuals" and "perennials" in the dictionary?! thanks and glad to be here!

ramona

Comments (12)

• javern
    19 years ago

Welcome to Iowa ! go down to Prairie Lights book store and get a copy of Gardening In Iowa and Surrounding Areas by Veronica Lorson Fowler, there are many others. Also tune into WSUI every Friday at 9am for horticulture Friday, excellent program where folks call in and ask experts gardening questions. I'm sure others here will offer more ideas !

Here is a link that might be useful: Prairie Lights books

• garasaki
    19 years ago

I don't have any advice, other then read around here a lot, but I'd like to say you aren't alone!

I'm also a gardening n00b in Iowa, although I have lived here all my life. In particular, I find posts by "IronBelly" to be quite applicable and informative.

Javern, thanks for that link. I might check that out too.

• uicricket
    19 years ago

Check with Kirkwood Community College. They have adult education courses in the evenings in Iowa City and surrounding areas. Their gardening courses are great for beginners and I've taken many of them. Guy Gibson is a good instructor if you can get into one of his courses - teaches the technical without getting too far over a beginner's head and his courses repeat a couple of times a year. He usually arranges tours of private gardens or businesses with good landscaping.

If you have questions ask away. Somebody here always knows the answer. GardenWeb is a great resource!

Happy gardening!

Cricket

• Iowagal
    19 years ago