Return to the Iowa Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Straw Bale Gardening

Posted by nbacres 4 NW IA (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 23, 09 at 16:32

This year I'm trying something new (yes, my DH reclaimed the corner of the corn field so I needed to be creative with my garden space). Back in the "old days", planting a garden in straw bales was common SO, with the help of DH, we purchased 10 bales and took them thru the conditioning stage of 10 days and have the tomatoes, peppers and gourd plants looking pretty good. I have discovered they (the bales) need watered at least every other day so I put a soaker hose the length of the bale run - makes the chore very easy!

Anyone else ever tried the bale gardening?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Straw Bale Gardening

I can't say that I have. Is there any benefit over in ground gardening? Or is just to act as a cheaper container for container gardening?

o

According to what I've read (remember, this is my first year of trying this) 1) it eliminates the need to stake the tomatoes, they will grow across and down the bales; 2) it eliminates the weeding; 3) it cuts down on rot and disease since the tomatoes aren't laying on the ground and hidden from circulating air; 4) less stress (on us 50+ aged gardeners) since there's less bending and "knee" work and 5) takes up a lot less space and I can mow between the row of bales. So far the only disadvantage I can tell is that I need to water them every-other day - but I'd need to do that anyways if they were in containers. The soaker hose works GREAT and I just need to remember to turn it on!! I'll post pics (once I figure the posting out..) Any suggestions you're thinking of?? I'd love to hear them.

o

Here's the setup we have for the 10 bales. Tomatoes, Peppers and, where no protection is, are watermellons. Note the soaker hose running the length.

Can't wait to hear of others with this gardening experience :)!