Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paws4pets

Growing seeds anyone?

paws4pets
18 years ago

Is anyone growing seeds this Winter? This is my first year for this endeavor. I have started Hosta's, Rose of Sharon, various grasses, Coneflower, Blanket Flower and Blackberry Lily so far. Might order some from a catalog or 2 soon.

Paws

Comments (14)

• jspece
    18 years ago

We'll likely be growing from seed...I've got lots of hosta seed I'd like to start. Other than the hosta seed, which is pretty slow, it is pretty early to start most seeds. Your Blanket Flower and Blackberry Lilies will likely be blooming before it is safe to go outside...if you can give them enough light to keep them happy. I would hold off on most seed starting until about March.

• whatcheer
    18 years ago

I enjoy winter sowing.I have many containers ready to plant and set outside.
    I know you can grow seeds in the garden the same way. It's just nice to transplant when you have an area ready and not weed out your seedlings. Your plants are also safe from late freezes.(Like last spring).
    I will be putting out lupine, hollyhock, delphinium,standing cypress and different annuals. I did tomato seed last year and the plants were twice as sturdy as the ones I did in the house. I bought some large ,flat rubbermaid containers this summer. I drilled holes in the bottom and top. They are just perfect little green houses. I'm planning to get started the first of the year.
    Here's the Winter Sowing link . It's really interesting.
    http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/wtrsow/

• Maude_IA
    18 years ago

YES!

I have a couple of trays started, and the impatiens and coleus are just showing their first two leaves. They're under a light and have bottom heat, but once they have true leaves, they'll have to move over and allow two new trays. I plan to start heliotrophe, salvia, and some veggies.