Return to the Integrated Pest Management Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is there anyway to deter bees and wasps

Posted by franni10 z10 FL (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 22, 05 at 23:52

Hi,
My mom and I are terribly allergic to bee and wasp stings and I was curious if there is anything we can plant outside to deter them. I know usually they are beneficial critters, but we can't afford to be stung. Also, we live by a body of water which attracts (sometimes poisonous) snakes. Is there anything we can plant to keep them away? I am new to all of this and anything you can tell me would be beneficial.
Thank you

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is there anyway to deter bees and wasps

The only way to keep bees and waps from your yard is to eliminate from the landscape anything that will produce pollen, and then you may still have some fly through to reach your neighbors. My next door neighbor is anaphylactic and has a garden that she is out in every day all growing season with her epipen in her pocket just in case. But she has found that her fear of being stung was far greater than reallity and in 25 plus years she has not been stung even though there are bees and wasps all around her when she is outside.

o

I agree totally! There are no plants that will repell these insects. Also, the same thing is true for snakes. They come into our yards for prey. If you eliminate the habitat (lawn and landscaping) you won't have a snake problem. What a bleak prospect, however.

You can overcome your fear of snakes with some good information gathering. Gaining confidance about stinging insects when you have the danger of allergic reactions is more difficult. I've been a working professional horticulturist for over 25 years (yikes!) and have never been stung.