Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
remnam

Caribbean Crazy Ants

remnam
12 years ago

Hard to believe that Caribbean crazy ants (CC ants) are so prevalent in the south, spreading so fast and yet, there is very little written about them. Nor is the government or apparently any private business enterprise (insecticide companies?) seemingly interested. But talk to anyone that has been infested with them all over their house or property and it is a VERY real problem. There is an opportunity for someone to make some money here, but no one seems to be trying yet.

I have been dealing with CC ants for the 3rd year now in West Central FL. I have more than 3 acres of land, 2 of which is good old Florida swamp. The CC ants are everywhere outside. But they are not inside my house, unless I lapse in my defense against them.

I am not a professional exterminator, nor am I in the business in any way. I am just a home owner trying to deal with this problem with little help from the rest of the world. But I (and my neighbors) have discovered how to keep the CC ants outside.

You have to create a barrier outside, around the perimeter of your house. I do this using DemonWP insecticide. I buy this online from this site, but you can find it elsewhere probably. But I have not found it in Home Depot, Lowes or other big box stores.

http://store.doyourownpestcontrol.com/Product/Demon-WP-Pack

It comes in powder form, mix with water in 1 gal sprayer, and I spray around base of my house at least 2 times a week. A gallon should last at least a few weeks. Just a light spray seems to work. Just create a barrier on the wall, near the ground.