Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lola1_gw

Moths in pantry - help! (long)

lola1
18 years ago

I have been battling moths now for a few months or so, and it is driving me crazy. I have tried several things and I'm getting tired of cleaning the shelves, corners, walls,---you name it--- because these &$@*%!!!

I have encased all dry goods in ziploc plastic bags. This includes pasta, rice, cake mixes, puddings, cake decorating sugars. Practically everything (Ziploc probably loves me - $$$s) is in a bag except for the can goods.

Since about 5-6 weeks ago, I discovered Safer brand Pantry Pest traps for moths that utilize a phermone (sp?) that attracts the male moths to it and they get stuck on the double-sided tape (a little like a glue trap). Well, this worked for a while and I kept thinking each week, 'okay, there'll be less, okay, there won't be any. . .' Ha! I find anywhere from 5 to 10 a day, just sitting on the ceiling or walls.

Where are they coming from? This is my guess:

1) they could be coming from other areas of the house, like closets, although I literally have not seen any in our closets

2) there is access to the crawl space on the floor of the pantry. The woman who used to own this house used to keep potatoes down there because it was naturally cool. Personally, I am way too much of a wimp to even think of opening it up, for fear that I'll see something that'll give me nightmares for weeks to come. My fiance says that since most bugs do not like the crawl space environment, it's unlikely they're coming from there. I'm not sure I agree with that.

3) new groceries- but I've made a strict rule that no dry goods enter the pantry unless they're "ziplocked."

Over the weekend, I put a handful of moth balls in there, a couple on each shelf, because I was disgusted with these things. I open the door this morning and 3 moths were just hanging out.