Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lnmca

grubs in plant roots

lnmca
18 years ago

This is my first time on the forum and I came here because am having a hard time finding information on the internet, specifically, about grubs in the roots of my plants (not in the turf). We planted some fortnight lilies (Dietes spp)at the beginning of last summer and some lived, some died. I was digging up the ground to replace the dead ones and came across several (about 50 per 5-gal plot) thick grayish-white grubs, about 1 inch long with orange-brown heads feasting on the roots of these dead plants. I dug up all I could find while removing the dead plant material, but now I am worried that they will return and kill my new plants. Are these problem creatures? Any suggestions?

Comments (8)

• username_5
    18 years ago

Grubs which feast on plants roots are certainly a problem, but the infestation may or may not repeat. Grubs are simply one stage in a bug's life. These grubs will mature into beetles or some other bug and leave.

They (the adults) may decide the area is good and move in if they feed on the plant as well in which case they will likely reproduce and the grubs will return again.

So, what to do?

Well, really there are many control strategies you can try and see what happens. There are biological controls such as BT strains which will kill grubs as well as chemical controls. For the most part these products are only effective applied in the summer when the grubs are actively feeding and soil temps are right. Just do a google search on 'grub control' and you will find various techniques/products that can be used.