Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denidill

newbie here - looking for a nice one

denidill
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I only have a small clump of dwarf bearded irises, which I really love. I've been thinking of a standard size ... I garden in zone 3, although I don't know if that matters with irises. (does it?)

I am hoping you can give me suggestions for a bloom that would be pink with apricot/peach in it as well. I saw pictures with these colors, but could find no names on the particular site I was perusing.

Thanks for any suggestions

Comments (9)

• iris_gal
    14 years ago

My winters are too mild for the SDB & MDB (standard dwarf & miniature dwarf)
    and your winters are too severe for the TB (tall).

That's the bad news. The good news is maybe I'm wrong and there is a tall bearded that will not succumb to rot.

I don't remember Laurie's website. She's in zone 4 I believe and has had some luck with a few. Hope someone will post it. This is Chapman's site. He may be able to steer you to some possibilities.

Here is a link that might be useful: Chuck Chapman in So. Ontario

• mshadow
    14 years ago

I am in zone 4 and have about 250 different tall bearded. I think a lot of it has to do with how much snow coverage you get. They love a blanket of snow in the winter in the cold zones. Mine have been under the snow since November and I won't see them again until April. I have the link below to Laurie's web site.

Shadow

Here is a link that might be useful: Shadowood

• sierra_z2b
    14 years ago

Hi all,